Waves to Weather

Breadcrumb Navigation


About us

The Transregional Collaborative Research Center “Waves to Weather” (W2W; SFB/TRR165) was established on July 1st 2015 to address the great challenge of identifying the limits of weather predictability in different situations and to produce the best forecasts that are physically possible.

The W2W consortium consists of:

  • the Ludwig-Maximilians University (LMU, Munich)
  • the Johannes Gutenberg University (JGU, Mainz)
  • the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT, Karlsruhe), together with
  • the Technische Universität München (TUM, Munich)
  • the Ruprecht-Karls University (RKU, Heidelberg)
  • the Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR, Oberpfaffenhofen in the Munich area), and
  • the Universität Hamburg (UHH, Hamburg)

The W2W coordinating team  consists of:

George Craig Speaker, Coordinator Munich, Steering Group (SG) member (2015-2024)
Volkmar Wirth Deputy speaker, Coordinator Mainz, SG member (2015-2024)
Peter Knippertz Deputy speaker, Coordinator Karlsruhe, SG member (2015-2024)
Michael Riemer Coordinator Research Area A, SG member (2016-2024)
Christian Keil Coordinator Research Area B, SG member (2022-2024)
Andreas Fink Coordinator Research Area C, SG member (2015-2024)
Tijana Janjic-Pfander Coordinator for Mathematics, SG member (2016-2024)
Audine Laurian Scientific manager (2015-2023)
Olena Furlan



Steering Group members (SG), Scientific Advisory Board members (SAB), and W2W Fellows, Nov. 2023, Landau(Pfalz). From left to right: Daniel Kirshbaum (Fellow), Christian Keil (SG), Linda Schlemmer (SAB), Volkmar Wirth (SG), Tijana Janjic-Pfander (SG), Juliana Dias (Fellow), Linus Magnusson (Fellow), Michael Riemer (SG), Andreas Fink (SG), George Craig (SG), Peter Knippertz (SG) and Tim Hewson (SAB).

Former Steering Group members are:

Bernhard Mayer Coordinator Research Area B, SG member (2018-2022)
Peter Spichtinger Coordinator Research Area B, SG member (2015-2018)
Kirstin Kober Coordinator Research Area A, SG member (2015-2016)

A Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) has been established since July 1st 2019 to assure the quality of W2W as a whole, to monitor the progress at regular intervals and to provide advice to help achieve the goals of scientific excellence and optimal use of the synergies available in the consortium. The SAB members serve for a four year term and are:

Ron McTaggart-Cowan (Canadian Meteorological Center) chairperson
Carolyn Reynolds (Naval Research Laboratory) member, expertise in RA-A
Linda Schlemmer (DWD) member, expertise in RA-B
Tim Hewson (ECMWF) member, expertise in RA-C
Michael Morgan (University of Wisconsin) member, link with WWRP

Former SAB members are:

Susan van den Heever (Colorado State University) member, expertise in RA-B


The Terms of Reference of the SAB are available here.

The bylaws of W2W are available here (in German).